Need help!

daveeeeee

Ex. Club Member
I'm have trouble with the webers so need help. i fitted the new gaskets today but had an accident whils doing it, i tripped and nearly dropped them and alot of fuel came out from somewhere. i've fitted them back on with the new gaskets started it up and its running at 3000 - 4000 revs on idle!! i neeeed help

im no pro, but wouldnt the fuel just be comming out of the float chamber?
are they already set up for a K10? they may need adjusting.
is the throttle cable jammed atall? other than a fast idle how is the car running?

No its not the idle ive been adjusting it but its making no difference, its not the choke either. getting quite alot of white smoke aswell.

dave, if the manifold is leaking on a joint/face, it will rev like you say, and if it,s leaking near the water jacket, it will chuff white smoke too :eek:

Argh you might be ryt! i'll go and av a look

wit must be the inlet mani gasket at fault i've put the standard carb back on and drove home, if i put the clutch down it just revs its nuts off all the way up to 5000rpm! i'm gonna get new gaskets asap.

ok, i've fitted new inlet mani gaskets no joy, i took the rocker cover off to av a look and theres loads of mayanaise like crap on the rocker cover? so i'm thinking head gasket? i cant think why it would rev its nuts off like this, did the same thing with the standard carb so it cant be the carbs?

some pics of the rocker cover.

Attachments

• Photo0078.jpg
    Photo0078.jpg
    275.5 KB · Views: 134
  • Photo0076.jpg
    Photo0076.jpg
    284.2 KB · Views: 164
anyone got any ideas on this? only thing i can think of is head gasket, but i dont want to go pulling the head apart if there's any other possibilities?

dave that mayo does,nt look too bad, if it,s revving with the throttle shut, it can only be sucking air in the inlet somewhere (does it still do it with your hand over the top of the single carb ?)